Around The House

Around the house this week;

The plants are blooming

Tomato blooming

Pink blooms

And setting fruit

Baby blueberries

Unripe strawberries

The kids are reading together

kiddos reading

And I made a batch of laundry soap. Hardly picturesque I know. I make laundry soap once or twice a month, it only takes a few minutes. It is so cheap and easy I thought I would share. This is a recipe for a liquid laundry soap, which I prefer over the powder. I found a version of this online somewhere, but I don’t remember where. You can find many similar recipes all over the internet.

Laundry soap setup

Liquid Laundry Soap

3 Tbs washing soda or baking soda

3 Tbs Borax

3 Tbs liquid castile soap (I use Dr. Bronners)

1 gallon water

Optional: a few drops essential oil

In the microwave or a kettle heat 2 cups of water, you want it hot but not boiling. Add the Borax and the washing soda to a small heatsafe bowl (I actually use a 2c pyrex measuring cup). In your chosen laundry soap container (I use half gallon mason jars, but just about anything will do as long as it’s big enough) pour the liquid castile soap.

Laundry soap mixing

When the water is hot, pour it over the Borax and soda, then stir until completely dissolved. The water will be cloudy to start, then will clear when all the powder dissolves. (see second photo) Next, pour the hot water/soda/Borax mixture into your laundry soap container and stir gently to mix with the soap. Fill container the rest of the way with water and give it a final stir. That’s it, you’re done!

Laundry soap done

In the photos I am making a half batch, which I often do because it exactly fills one jar. A half batch of soap lasts me about 2 weeks, and I am a cloth diapering mama doing laundry every day. It would likely last you even longer. We use 1/4 cup of soap per load of laundry.

What about you? Do you make any household products yourself? What’s happening around your house this week?

 

This entry was posted in Around The House, Recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

